The announcement of the 66th National Film Awards were held at Shastri Bhawan in New Delhi. Earlier today, the jury members submitted their report to Information and Broadcasting Minister Prakash Javadekar with their final recommendations in various categories. Director Rahul Rawail presented the list along with other jury members.

Every year, the awards are announced in April and the ceremony is held on May 3. But this year, the awards were postponed in the wake of the general elections. Prakash Javadekar told PTI, “They made a lot of efforts for the last two months. I am very sure that they would have picked the best films, the best directors. They will announce that at the press conference today. This is 66th year of film awards and they have become a prestigious institute.”

Here are the winners in the feature films category:

Best Actor: Ayushmann Khurrana in Andhadhun and Vicky Kaushal in Uri: The Surgical Strike

Best Actress: Keerthy Suresh for Mahanati

Best Director: Aditya Dhar for Uri: The Surgical Strike

Best Feature Film: Hellaro (Gujarati)

Best Supporting Actress: Surekha Sikri for Badhaai Ho

Best Supporting Actor: Swanand Kirkire for Chumbhak

Best Child artiste: P V Rohith (Kannada), Sameep Singh (Punjabi), Talha Arshad Reshi (Urdu) and Shrinivas Pokale (Marathi)

Special Mention Award – Mahaan Hutatma

Best Film on Social Issue: Padman

Best Film providing wholesome entertainment: Badhaai Ho

Special Jury Award: Joju George (Joseph), Savitri Sasidharan (Sudani from Nigeria)

Best Regional Films

Best Hindi Film: Andhadhun

Best Telugu Film: Mahanathi

Best Tamil Film: Baaram

Best Rajasthani film: Turtle directed by Dinesh Yadav.

Best Malayalam Film: Sudani from Nigeria

Best Sherdukpan Film — Mishing

Pangchenpa Film — In The Land of Poison Women

Best Punjabi Film — Harjeeta

Best Assamese Film — Bulbul can sing

Best Konkani Film — Amori

Best Kannada Film — Nathicharami

Best Bengali Film — Ek Je Chhilo Raja


Best Music: Jyoti

Best music director: Sanjay Leela Bhansali for Padmaavat

Best Male playback singer: Arijit Singh for ‘Binte Dil’ (Padmaavat)

Best Female playback singer: Bindu Malini for ‘Mayavi Manave’  (Nithicharami)

Best background music: Uri: The Surgical Strike

Best Sound Design: Uri: The Surgical strike

Best choreography: Jyothi D Tommaar for ‘Ghoomar‘ from Padmaavat


Best Original Screenplay: Chi La Sow

Best Adapted Screenplay: Andhadhun

Best Dialogues: Tariqh

Most Film-Friendly state : Uttarakhand

The winners in the non-feature films category are:

Best Film: Chalo Jeete Hain

Best Short Film: Kasab

Best Sports Film: Swimming Through The Darkness

Best Educational Film: Sarlabh Virala

Best Film on Social Issues: Taala Te Kunji

Best Debut Non-Feature Film: Feluda: 50 Years of Ray’s Detective

Best Arts and Culture Film: Bunkar: The Last of The Varanasi Weavers

Best Science & Technology Film: G.D Naidu: The Edison of India

Best Environmental Film: The World’s Most Famous Tiger

Best Promotional Film: Rediscovering Jalam

Best Film on Science and Technology: GD Naidu: The Edison of Indi

Best Investigative Film — Amoli 

Best Non-Feature Film — Son Rise and The Secret Life of Frogs