The names of 128 recipients of Padma Awards were confirmed by President Ram Nath Kovind on Tuesday. Among the awardees this year are veteran actor Victor Banerjee, playback singer Sonu Nigam, and filmmaker Chandraprakash Dwivedi.

Victor Banerjee was awarded the Padma Bhushan for his services to art and cinema. The veteran actor has appeared in Hindi, Bengali and English-language films for close to four decades, winning the National Award for Ghare Baire. He is one of the few Indian actors to have been nominated for the prestigious BAFTA Awards, a nod he earned for his performance in David Lean’s A Passage to India (1984).

Sonu Nigam, one of the recipients of Padma Shri this year, is one of the leading singers of his generation. After making his foray with stage shows in early 1990s, Sonu made it big with playback in Hindi films towards the latter part of the decade. He has sung over…

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here